Viqueque Schools

Districts of Timor-Leste

Timor-Leste has 13 administrative divisions or districts: Bobonaro, Liquiçá, Díli,Baucau, Manatuto and Lautém on the north coast; Cova-Lima, Ainaro, Manufahi and Viqueque, on the south coast; Ermera and Aileu, the two landlocked districts; and Oecussi-Ambeno, the enclave in Indonesian territory. The borders of the 13 districts have been more or less the same since the last years of Portuguese administration. Each district comprises a capital city and various subdistricts whose number can vary between three and seven.

Viqueque is located on the south coast of the island. It has a population of 66,434 inhabitants (census 2004) and an area of 1,781 km².

The Viqueque District

The Viqueque district comprises the subdistricts of Lacluta, Ossu, Uatolari (formerly called Leça), Uato Carabau and Viqueque. In addition to the official languages of the country (Tetun and Portuguese), the majority of the population speaks Macassai.

The capital of the district is the town of the same name, Viqueque.

A map of Viqueque.

Viqueque Partnered Schools

View the following galleries which contain photographs of our partner schools in Viqueque:



   Christian College Bellarine 

   Calixa Years 10-12

Passsage about Calixa


     Christian College Highton 

     4 Setembro Years 10-12

Passsage about 4 Setembro


        Clonard College 

        Uaimori Years 1-6

Passsage about Uaimori


  St francis xavier emblem      St Francis Xavier PS

        St Estevao Years 10-12

Passsage about St Estavao


  geelong grammar emblem      Geelong Grammer School

        Olocasa Years 10-12

Passsage about Olocasa


        Geelong High School

        Mundo Perdido Years 7-9

Passsage about Mundi Perdido


        St Ignatius College

        Loi-Huno Years 1-9

Passsage about Loi-Huno


  st josephs emblem      St Joseph’s College

        Viqueque 01 Years 7-9

Passsage about Viqueque 01


  Kardinia emblem      Kardinia International College

        Cabira-oan Years 1-9

Passsage about Cabrio-oan


Film ‘Journey to Viqueque’ by GVFS Committee member Reagan Purdy:

  sacred heart emblem      Sacred Heart College

        St Teresinha Years 7-9

Passsage about St Teresinha


Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: